Joyeux Noel Pillow – Check!

Another craft completed off my To-Do list! At first I was planning to make two pillows for this project, but I ended up making up just one with the left over canvas that I had from my Ruffled Tree Skirt. Seemed like a great idea to use up a scrap of fabric that I didn’t know what else to use it for, and I’m very happy with the finished result.

Here’s what I used for supplies: Scrap piece of canvas fabric (approximately 1′ by 4′), Joyeux Noel word template (Here), Sharpie markers, Sewing machine, Pillow stuffing.

I started by printing out my template for “Joyeux Noel” and positioning the words at different levels, then taping them to the window so that I could trace them onto my fabric. Then I taped my fabric on top of the template positioned where I wanted the words to be on the front of my pillow fabric.

(I’m sure my neighbors thought I was crazy at this point!) Then I used my Sharpie Pen to trace the outlines of all the letters. With the sun shining through it was really easy to see all the outlines, even the thin swirls were easy to trace.

  

After I finished tracing all the letters, I took the fabric off the window and laid it on top of scrap paper to catch any marker bleed through and went to coloring in all the letters and making all the lines darker.

This was after “one coat” of filling in with the Sharpie that I had. I think the Sharpie was a little old, so if you have a newer Sharpie marker you may not need to do extra “coats”. I ended up with 3 coats of marker total.

This was after three “coats” of Sharpie marker. Now onto sewing and then stuffing. Just sew around your edges (wrong sides of fabric together), leaving an opening to turn your fabric. Turn pillow right side out, fill with pillow batting, and then sew the opening shut. (Sorry, I forget to take photos of these steps.)

Then place in your favorite spot and stand back and enjoy! This little project actually didn’t cost me a thing because I had everything already!

One thought on “Joyeux Noel Pillow – Check!

  1. GORGEOUS! I love the look of these pillows, but have never attempted it because I figured I could never copy the font satisfactorily. I don’t know why I didn’t think of window-copying! I was just doing some window-copying for my reverse applique pillow yesterday. Your Christmas ideas are awesome – I love seeing all your projects. 🙂

Leave a Reply

